Young Engineers Awards
Events and conferences

CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards

CIBSE ANZ held the Young Engineers Awards on Thursday, September 12.

Nine students and young engineer finalists flew to Melbourne from around Australia and New Zealand for the winning announcement in each of the award categories.

The event was held at Melbourne Museum, and guests were given a special presentation by Peter Mathieson, F.AIRAH, Technical Director at Aurecon, who was a key part of the team that built the new museum in the 1990s. He shared some of the building services design challenges and considerations for museums and galleries in general, and some of the strategies used at the Melbourne Museum in particular.

The night also included an address from CIBSE President Lynne Jack, who was in Melbourne for the occasion.

This year CIBSE received entries from 12 different consultancies and three universities across Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Queensland, Christchurch and Auckland.

The winners were:

  • Mark Griffin Award – Student of the Year: Mitchell Peatman
  • CIBSE ANZ Graduate of the Year Award: Aaron Hoare, Affil.AIRAH
  • Jack Pirie Award – Young Engineer of the Year: Tommy Sailing.

The young engineers and graduate entries were judged on their contribution to the building services industry and their video responses. These presented what each candidate believed to be the most novel, scalable and implementable ideas that could be applied to building services to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The Mark Griffin – Student of the Year award applicants were challenged with a video response to the same question based on a literature review. 

The winners each received a bamboo trophy, framed certificate and a $1,000 cash prize.

CIBSE uses the Young Engineers Awards program to engage with students and young building services professionals seeking to make an impact in building services and become future leaders of the industry. Nominations for the 2020 Awards will open in November.

Featured image: Mitchell Peatman, Tommy Sailing, Aaron Hoare (left to right).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *