Events and conferences

Efficiency key to recovery

An online summit called Energy Efficiency and Australia’s Economic Recovery has been scheduled on July 1 to discuss how energy efficiency and energy management can help support Australia’s economic recovery post-COVID-19.

The forum is being delivered by the Australian Council of Social Services (ACOSS), Australian Industry Group (Ai Group), the Energy Efficiency Council (EEC), the Property Council of Australia, and a coalition of other organisations including the Australian Institute of Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heating (AIRAH).

“The world has experienced a public health emergency that has brought with it acute economic impacts,” say the organisers. “As Australia responds to the crisis, there is a growing consensus that energy efficiency has a crucial role in the economic recovery and in providing long-term social, economic and environmental benefits.”

Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel and leaders from politics, business and the community sector will discuss how we can act to put energy efficiency at the heart of Australia’s economic recovery.

The event has been timed to build on the momentum generated by the final report of the Global Commission for Urgent Action on Energy Efficiency.

Also joining the event live from London will be Michael Liebreich, a leading global expert on clean energy and transportation, smart infrastructure, technology, climate finance and sustainable development. Mr. Liebreich is founder of New Energy Finance (purchased by Bloomberg LP in 2009) and  a member of the Commission and will join us to explain its findings and their implications for Australia.  

  • Date: Wednesday, July 1, 2020
  • Time: 2– 5pm AEST |1.30–4.30pm ACST | 12–3pm AWST
  • Registration: Free registration at eec.org.au/EfficientRecovery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *