Events and conferences Features

Finalists named for AIRAH Awards 2020

The finalists of the 2020 AIRAH Awards have been announced.

The annual awards show organised by the Australian Institute of Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heating (AIRAH) will be held as a virtual event on November 10.

The finalists were selected following an independent judging process. Nominations submitted by the Australian HVAC&R community were judged and anonymously scored by a pool of industry specialists within each category.

The winners will be announced at the online awards ceremony, as part of AIRAH’s Outlook 2020 International HVAC&R Conference. The conference will be a full-day virtual event featuring three keynote speakers, two panel sessions, five streams, a networking café, and more than 30 speakers.

The AIRAH Awards 2020 celebrates outstanding achievements from around Australia’s HVAC&R industry across 10 categories.


Student of the Year Award – Higher Education or Research

  • Nima Izadyar, Affil.AIRAH
  • Yunlong Ma, Affil.AIRAH

WR Ahern Award

  • “Energy performance of low-charge NH3 systems in practice”. Stefan Jensen, F.AIRAH, August Ecolibrium 2019
  • “Improving pump efficiency. A combination of regulation and good design”. James Spears, M.AIRAH, December Ecolibrium 2019
  • “Principles of split mass flow and heat-shifting psychrometrics towards efficient comfort management”. Peter Phillips, F.AIRAH, July Ecolibrium 2019

Future Leader

  • Grace Foo, M.AIRAH
  • James Goard, Affil.AIRAH
  • Steven Williams, Affil.AIRAH

Product of the Year

  • Breezair Extraordinaire (Seeley)
  • OPA Eco Ultra (Temperzone)
  • Precise Control Units (Air Change)

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade

  • McClintock Engineering Group (Advancing HVAC in healthcare)
  • IT Critical Systems (BHP Olympic Dam: DR site upgrade)

Product of the Year

  • Seeley for Breezair Extraordinaire
  • Temperzone for OPA Eco Ultra
  • Air Change for Precise Control Units

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

  • Norman Disney & Young

Excellence in HVAC&R Research

  • Xiaolin Wang, Affil.AIRAH, ANU. Carbon dioxide hyrate-based cold thermal energy storage and carbon capture
  • Dr. Vahid Vakiloroaya, Innowate. Towards Green Buildings

Excellence in Innovation

  • Norman Disney & Young and Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre (Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre)
  • McClintock Engineering Group (University of Queensland, Gatton Campus)
  • A.G. Coombs, Steensen Varming, and Wood (UTS Central)

Excellence in Sustainability

  • Norman Disney & Young and Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre (Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre)
  • Ample Tech (InterContinental Sydney Double Bay)
  • Plenary Group (Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre)

Denis Joseph Award for Innovative Use of Solar Energy in HVAC&R

  • Veolia and McClintock Engineering Group (Innovative Solar Thermal Water Battery)

James Harrison Medal

  • This is the highest honour bestowed on an individual at the AIRAH Awards. The winner will be announced during the Awards ceremony.

The AIRAH Awards 2020 will be held as a free-admission virtual event on Tuesday November 10 at 4.30pm (NSW, Vic, ACT, Tas) | 4pm (SA) | 3.30pm (Qld) | 3pm (NT) | 1.30pm (WA).

For more information and to register for the Awards ceremony, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.