Finalists named for AIRAH Awards 2023

AIRAH has named the finalists for its 2023 industry awards. The AIRAH Awards celebrate the leading projects, people, products and initiatives at the vanguard of HVAC&R.

“The AIRAH Awards program provides another avenue to highlight and celebrate the tremendous work being done by the talented teams and individuals within our critical industry,” says AIRAH’s Education and Technical Services Manager Brendan Pejkovic, who oversees the AIRAH Awards.

“The engineers and technicians in HVAC&R usually do their essential work away from mainstream attention and kudos. However, we think excellence should be recognised and celebrated, which is the purpose behind the AIRAH Awards.”

In 2023, finalists have been named across 10 categories, which recognise excellence in fields ranging from retrofits and new builds to leadership and innovation.

Along with the 10 award winners, AIRAH’s highest honour, the James Harrison Medal, will also be presented to an outstanding individual at a black-tie gala dinner on Thursday, November 30, in Sydney.

The 2023 AIRAH Awards finalists are:

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade

  • Customised – BHP South Flank
  • Airmaster – Dumas House MSSB Upgrade
  • Bridgeford Group – ESTA000 Call Centre
  • JMG Engineers – MyState Bank Arena
  • Glaciem Cooling – Woolworths Group HVAC Upgrade

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

  • BGIS
  • CFM Air Conditioning
  • Woolworths Group

Excellence in HVAC&R Research

  • University of Melbourne – BREATH
  • University of Sydney – Open Source Multiplatform
  • Western Sydney University et al – CPENV

Excellence in Innovation

  • A.G. Coombs – Allianz Stadium
  • Exergenics – Chilled Water Plant Optimisation
  • Glaciem – Woolworths CO2 HVAC Systems

Excellence in Refrigeration

  • Elite Refrigeration – Burleigh Baker, Gold Coast
  • PDF Engineering – Hello Fresh
  • City Engineering – TCO2 training

Excellence in Sustainability

  • A.G. Coombs – Allianz Stadium
  • SEQUAL – Red Valley Mushrooms
  • Benmax – Snow Concert Hall

Future Leader

  • Mark Allsopp, Affil.AIRAH
  • Siti Mustaffa, M.AIRAH
  • Nicholas Tassigiannakis, M.AIRAH
  • Dr Federico Tartarini, Affil.AIRAH

Product of the Year

  • Construction Specialties Australia – RS-5605

Student of the Year – Trade

  • Freddie Nona, Stud.AIRAH
  • Skye O’Keefe, Stud.AIRAH

WR Ahern Award

This award goes to the best technical paper by an AIRAH member published in Ecolibrium over the previous year.

Four papers are eligible for the WR Ahern Award in 2023.

James Harrison Medal

The James Harrison Medal is the highest honour AIRAH can bestow upon an individual member. Named after refrigeration pioneer James Harrison, it recognises the highest levels of individual achievement in the Australian refrigeration and air conditioning industry.

The James Harrison Medal recipient is selected by the AIRAH Board. It is not awarded every year.

AIRAH has also thanked the Awards sponsors: Gala sponsor Daikin, Future Leader sponsor A.G. Coombs, Product of the Year sponsor HVAC&R Search, and WR Ahern sponsor Ecolibrium.

For more information and to register for the AIRAH Awards 2023 event, go to the AIRAH Awards site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.