Events and conferences News

Winners announced at the 2022 AIRAH Awards

AIRAH has announced the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2022 at a gala dinner on November 24 at Luna Park in Sydney. Almost 200 industry leaders gathered on the night to celebrate the top people, projects and products of Australia’s HVAC&R sector.

AIRAH says it has been working for many years to raise the profile of HVAC&R.

“For more than a decade, even when we had to go virtual because of the pandemic, AIRAH has held our annual awards,” says Chief Executive Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH.

“We are committed to shining a light on the critical and innovative work being done in our industry.”

As well as selecting winners in 11 categories, AIRAH awarded the James Harrison Medal – the Institute’s highest honour. Dr Stephen White, L.AIRAH, received the accolade this year for his work on electricity demand management, the Low Carbon Living CRC, the ASBEC Sustainable Housing Task Group, and the ground-breaking Innovation Hub (i-Hub) for Affordable Heating and Cooling initiative.

Gleeson says although it has taken time for the HVAC&R industry to be properly recognised, that is set to change as we approach a climate tipping point.

“As the world begins to comprehend just how much effort is required to rein in our greenhouse gas emissions and prevent more extreme climate change, people are looking for sectors that can make a difference,” he says. “HVAC&R is one of those. It’s a daunting challenge. But looking at the winners and finalists of the 2022 AIRAH Awards, I believe the HVAC&R industry has what it takes.”

The winners of the AIRAH Awards 2022 are:

  • Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade: McClintock Engineering Group – Otto Hirschfeld Dissection Laboratory AHU upgrade
  • Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion: Cundall
  • Excellence in HVAC&R Research: Conserve It – Real-time model predictive control with digital twins and edge computing technologies
  • Excellence in Innovation: AMP Capital – Quay Quarter Tower
  • Excellence in Sustainability: Benmax – The University of Newcastle’s Q Building
  • Future Leader: Mark Elliott, M.AIRAH
  • Innovative use of Renewable Energy in HVAC&R: Conserve It – Optimal scheduling of air conditioning systems with renewable energy resource and thermal storage
  • Product of the Year: Smartair Diffusion – Smartemp Helical Vari-Swirl Diffuser
  • Student of the Year – Higher Education or Research: Jason Jarvinen, Stud.AIRAH – University of South Australia
  • Student of the Year – Trade: Renzo Antonio Munster, Stud.AIRAH – PHW Services
  • WR Ahern Award: “Best-practice energy performance benchmarked for refrigerated warehouses” by Stefan Jensen, F.AIRAH – Ecolibrium, August/September 2021
  • James Harrison Medal: Dr Stephen White, L.AIRAH

A full list of finalists and more information about the winners is available at the AIRAH Awards website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.